It’s the weekend and I have a cold, so what better way to brighten my day other than a stack of fluffy pancakes? Especially if they are vegan!

I haven’t really talked about this with anyone, other than my mum and boyfriend, but I am trying to eat less and less animal products… I saw this TED talk recently and got inspired to have days where I am vegan – usually during the week, but I am trying to make most of my meals that way. I won’t dive into my opinions on veganism – way too long of a post, but I do believe that reducing the animal products from our diet is a great way to help the planet. You do not have to be extreme about it, just try to only eat hamburgers on the weekend.

Back to our pancakes now!

vegan_pancakes_04

Ingredients:

  • 100 g flour (add another 10-20 g depending on the batter)
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla sugar
  • 1 tsp soda bicarbonate
  • 200 ml almond milk – or any non-dairy milk
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp rum essence
  • coconut oil
  • optional: cinnamon and maple syrup, to serve

Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl and the liquid ingredients in another. Slowly whisk the two together (I add the dry to the liquid spoon by spoon). Heat up some coconut oil in a pan and then add the batter – I use a small ladder. When lightly brown and no longer stuck to the frying pan, flip the pancake and wait for it to turn brown on the other side as well!

It makes a huge stack that you can share with someone or go crazy and eat all of them on your own!

vegan_pancakes_05

I like to serve them with a sprinkle of cinnamon – ’tis the season to sprinkle cinnamon on EVERYTHING – and a lot of maple syrup. But they also work well with berries, bananas and a drop of soy yogurt. Enjoy!

