Vegan Recipe: Pumpkin Cream Soup

Autumn is just around the corner, which means it’s time for my favourite pumpkin cream soup with a lot of curry spices – it can be served as a soup with some fresh greens and croutons or as a curry on top of steamed rice… or maybe spill it on the floor the next day before you get to take any good photos of it just like I did!

pumpkin_cream_soup_003_headerpumpkin_cream_soup_002

Here’s what you will need for this delicious soup:

  • 1 small to medium pumpkin
  • 1 onion
  • 1-2 carrots
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • lots of curry powder
  • cumin powder
  • a bit of oil
  • water
  • salt & pepper

Optionally you can add some sour cream, however I made this recipe vegan and it’s just as tasty without the cream – and I also replaced the butter with olive oil. BTW, I would totally link to the original recipe if I could find it – I spent an hour looking for this recipe when I gave up and decided to make it from memory – and then I found it written on a piece of paper and pinned in my kitchen just above the stove!

In my defense, I changed my computer recently and lost my bookmarks and I only cook this soup during Autumn . So time to cook it again!

pumpkin_cream_soup_001_header

Begin by cutting the pumpkin into small pieces. Then chop, chop the onions – you will blend everything so no need to finely dice them unless you wish to cry. Add the oil to a pot on a medium heat, saute the onion with the spices. Meanwhile, dice the carrot and add it to the pot with some salt and a bit of water – helps the carrot cook faster.

When the onion is glassy and the carrot softer, reduce the heat and throw in the pumpkin with enough water to cover it and some more curry spices. Bring it to a boil, then simmer partly covered for about 20 minutes or until the pumpkin is soft. Afterwards, just blend everything. Use the water in which the veggies were boiled to play with the consistency of the soup. Boil it again and add more curry for tastiness and salt and pepper as per your taste-buds’ taste! If you want to use sour cream, then add it after you boil the soup the second time, but it’s just as good without it.

pumpkin_cream_soup_004

And there you have it, a delicious pumpkin soup for cold Autumn evenings to warm your soul (or color your floor).

3 thoughts on “Vegan Recipe: Pumpkin Cream Soup

  1. I am so sorry it got spilled! But it looks absolutely delicious and wonderfully yummy. I hope you continue to enjoy eating it over the autumn month. I kinda love anything pumpkin. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

